Pancakes

I love pancakes. Whether it’s American pancakes or crêpes they are one of my favourite foods.

Today I found myself craving pancakes but I had no blueberries (I usually have blueberries in my pancakes) and no milk. Now milk is a rather essential part of a pancake recipe so I thought that I wouldn’t be able to make them. But then I found a can of coconut milk in the back of a cupboard. I know. Coconut milk in pancakes? It’s a little experimental but I thought I would try it.

I also found two bananas. Normally I don’t like bananas but since I was already experimenting with the coconut milk I may as well add the bananas to the mix.

I can safely say that those were the best pancakes I have ever had. They were just amazing!



The Recipe

Banana-pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 135g of plain flour (I used self raising because I had no plain)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp of caster sugar (I used golden caster sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp of salt (If you don’t like too much salt don’t add the salt)
  • 1 large egg
  • 130 ml of milk (I used coconut milk)
  • Two bananas or 75g of blueberries (optional)
  • A grater (if you are going to have bananas)
  • A knob of butter
  • Maple Syrup (to serve)

Equipment:

  • 1 medium glass bowl (or any bowl around that size)
  • 1 small glass bowl (or any bowl of a similar size)
  • An electric whisk (recommended but a normal whisk can be used)
  • A sieve 
  • A ladle type thing (to pour the mixture onto the frying pan)
  • A frying pan

Method

Step 1 : Lightly whisk together the egg and milk in the small bowl.

Step 2 : Sift the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into the medium bowl.

Step 3 : Pour the contents of the small bowl into the medium bowl with the flour mixture.

Step 4 : Mix the mixture using the whisk until it is smooth.

Step 4a : If you are going to add banana, grate the bananas into the mixture and stir.

Step 4b : If you are going to add blueberries, wash the blueberries and gently stir them into the mixture.

Step 5 : Heat the frying pan over a medium heat and add a knob of butter to stop the pancakes from sticking to the pan.

Step 6 : Get a ladle of batter and pour it onto the frying pan. If the frying pan is big enough add another pancake.

Step 7 :When the pancake starts to bubble on top, flip it. Then flip it and until both sides are golden brown.

Step 8 : Repeat until all the batter has been used up.

Step 9 : Serve with some maple syrup.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

